Love What You Do

The other day I was talking to a real estate agent about the residential real estate market and her business. She told me that she’s never worked harder than in the last two years. The downturn and subsequent rollercoaster of a market have made buying and selling homes more complex than any time in her 20 years of being a real estate agent.

As we talked I marveled at how excited and upbeat she was. I had to ask, “Given how hard your job is and the uncertainty you deal with, how do you stay so positive?”

She answered, “Because I love what I do. I love helping people – guiding and counseling them. If I can help one person make a good decision, then I’ve had a great day. Whether that person chooses to buy or sell is really not the point. It’s about giving them sound advice that they can trust. That’s my purpose.”

Listening to her, I was struck by her passion. This is someone who loves helping other people. It just so happens she has an expertise that she can share. But it was more than that. Her joy was contagious. I thought about it a lot after our conversation, and it confirms something I’ve known for a long time: Love what you do.

It was a great reminder that we all have a choice. We can merely breathe and exist, or we can choose to live our lives with great passion and demand more of ourselves and be generous with others. And that choice creates a much fuller life.

When you are passionate about something, you learn all about it. And when you know more, you gain confidence. And when you become confidently passionate, it becomes infectious. And that can inspire others.

It sure inspires me!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Hillary on June 8, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    So true. As I found myself saying a lot a few years ago, there really aren’t ‘good’ jobs or ‘bad’ jobs – just good or bad attitudes.

    Reply

  2. […] I read this blog article the other day and it rings true, you have to love what you do. […]

    Reply

  3. I so believe this and wish more agents would get passionate about how they provide great services to their client base on a consistent basis.

    I just referred to your post in my most recent post on this topic.
    http://michaeldfanning.com/how-do-you-get-back-to-the-basics-when-the-basics-have-changed/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

