Count Me Out

For those of you following my riveting pursuit of becoming a census enumerator (not counter or taker) the story ends here.  The other day I met a census person actually walking through my neighborhood.   It turns out she’s been doing it for over a month.  I told her that I was surprised I never got a call since I had a rocking 93 and was told it was a great score.

She said that because of the large numbers of unemployed people lots of folks kept re-taking the test to improve their scores.  Turns out that the available pool consisted almost entirely of people who had a 100 on the exam.  My 93 was the equivalent of a D.  Crap.

I was so looking forward to getting paid to snoop on my neighbors.  Now I will have to figure out some other way to find out what’s going on in that house down the street.   Where are my binoculars?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by SomeGuy on May 19, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Surely you can mock up some official looking forms (and a badge) and start your own census of neighborhood cougars?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

