I’m More Sorry Than Ever

The Tiger Woods Apology Tour rolled into Augusta Monday and it was probably Tiger’s finest apology yet.   In front of several thousand media people from around the world, Tiger waxed poetic in describing what he’s sorry about:

“Uh, the rehab is personal.  What happened that night when the SUV crashed is between me and Elin.  The Canadian doctor is a complete stud and everybody in sports goes to him…for legal prescriptions.  I really am sorry.   I’m looking forward to a lot more apologies.  I think my remorse game is really rounding into shape.  Yesterday, I nailed some awesome regrets in the practice round and by Thursday I expect to have some smokin’ apologies and be really competitive.   I really don’t have any comment on Hugh Hefner’s impending marriage to the embryo he’s been dating. “

This is probably the single most important story of 2010 if not the 21st century thus far.  There have been some big apologies this year (John Edwards, Jesse James, John Mayer to name a few) but all pale in comparison to the heartfelt mea culpas of Tiger.  It’s not just the quality but the quantity and I for one can hardly wait for more.

Public Apology expert Hugh Snively said recently: “In the pantheon of public apologies Tiger is approaching Hall of Fame status.  Certainly he has  a ways to go compared to such legends as Bill (Boo Hoo) Clinton, Michael (Rueful) Richards and Mark (Mea Culpa) Sanford.  I think as the Apology Tour continues we will see public apologies elevated to heights that will be difficult for anyone to achieve.  Tiger is putting up some staggering remorse stats.”

Even more wonderful has been the understated and sophisticated media coverage.  Check this out from The Daily Show  to see some of the coverage. (Click on the second window.)  The folks covering the economy, war and poverty around the world could take some cues from this coverage.

I can hardly wait for the next stop on the tour.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Craig on April 7, 2010 at 9:40 am

    To really appreciate the depths of this guy’s truly horrid life, you’ve got to read the May issue of Vanity Fair. http://www.vanityfair.com/online/daily/2010/03/tiger-woodss-inconvenient-women.html

    Reply

    • Just read it. Wow. Despite his uber sleaziness you have to give him props for doing all he could for the economy. The women posing in VF is interesting…just part of their stunning careers.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Steve Kerr on April 7, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    Whenever I read or hear a public figure offering a public apology, my first thought is always to this piece of Pure Drivel.

    http://www.nytimes.com/books/first/m/martin-drivel.html

    Reply

  3. LOVE that. Next time I write about public apologies (and I will) I will include this…and take all the credit. Thanks Steve.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

